Tonka Smiles Dental Reviews

Leave us a review, or read our wonderful patient’s reviews!

5 Stars ” The most talented dental team in the Twin Cities “ — Janet H

Peggy, LeeAnn and Dr. Phillips are caring, talented, competent and quite simply the best Dental experience of my life. I wouldn’t dream of going any where else.

04/20/2015

5 Stars ” Wonderful Care! “ — Jacqueline A

I am never surprised by the excellent care I receive from Tonka Smiles, from the minute I walk in the door until the time I leave. Dr. Johnson and the staff always treat me gently, respectfully, and with my best interest at the forefront. I get a follow-up/check-up call if necessary. Thank you Tonka Smiles!!

06/09/2015

5 Stars ” Happy Teeth Happy Life! “ — Rae L

Our family has been going to Tonka Smiles for many years! Thank you for do a great job of taking care of us!

10/29/2015

5 Stars ” How could TS be better? “ — Scott G

Really, it is the perfect dental experience. I am not a fan of going to the dentist, and to tell you the truth, or is that trooth?, I was recommended to Jan & Dr. J when i complained about hating my previous dental practice. Another of your clients, Liz Matassa, told me I should call you and I did. I couldn’t be happier. It is really a victory story. Thank you all for being simply awesome.

05/04/2016

5 Stars ” Excellent bi annual visit. “ — Cynthia P

Thanks for another great visit… Tonka Smiles is truly a Family welcoming practice.

06/21/2016

5 Stars ” Thanks “ — Richard S

Dr. Phillips is very congenial, thorough, professional and informative – as are LeeAnn, Peggy and the rest of your crew.Thanks for all your great dental service!

07/20/2016

5 Stars ” As always, great experience “ — Emily K

I have been a patient of Dr Johnson and Jan’s since I was little. I don’t think there are too many people who say, “I enjoy going to the dentist.” However, because of the care, person-ability, warmth,and professionalism that Tonka Smiles provides me; I sincerely can say, I look forward to every 6 month visit.

08/24/2016

5 Stars ” As always, Great Experience “ — Victoria E

I love the new technology Tonka Smiles has integrated into the business. Texts, electronic feedback are great improvements and of course Jan and everyone is great!

11/30/2016

5 Stars ” 5 stars “ — Kathleen H

only place I know where you get hugs and pleasant greetings. Such a joyful place to go.

10/07/2016

5 Stars ” Excellent Care! The best dentist I’ve ever had! “ — Haley W

Tonka Smiles was absolutely amazing! From the receptionist all the way up to the Dentist, I had excellent care and service. I had been very nervous and they took that into consideration and made me feel very at ease. Each and every person took the time to answer any questions that I had, explain what was happening and making sure that I was comfortable. I can not express how happy I am with the entire staff at Tonka Smiles! Thank you!

02/18/2017

5 Stars ” A scaredy-cat who doesn’t mind going to the dentist now “ — Anonymous

Hands-down the best dentist office I’ve visited. They are caring and friendly and want you to be at ease when visiting the dentist. From the hygienists to front desk people to the dentists…first-class customer service.I see Dr. Johnson. She is fabulous.

04/25/2018

5 Stars ” Tonka Smiles “ — Jocelyn A

Great staff & hygienists as well as Dr. Betsy Philllips!

05/03/2018

5 Stars — Sean G

Very friendly and caring. I felt more comfortable and happy here than any other dentist. Dr. Johnson was able to meet with me and do a filling at the very last minute since I was leaving town. I will be endlessly thankful for this. My situation was an emergency, though; please be kind and make an appointment 😉

09/27/2017

5 Stars — christina w

I love this place! From the Hygienists to the Assistants to the Doctors. Everyone is so warm and welcoming. They make it FUN to come to the dentist!!!

10/08/2017

5 Stars — Alex M

Caring and smart staff and dentists! I have been going to Tonka Smiles for many years and am a loyal patient.

12/17/2017

5 Stars — Betsy N

I’ve been going to this practice since I was 6 years old. Everyone is fabulous! I now bring my son and he absolutely loves coming here. Being afraid of the dentist was never a thing for him and I credit that to wonderful hygienist at Tonka Smiles. We regularly see Jan now and she is so kind and patient with all my son’s questions and stories!

02/20/2018

5 Stars — Patti B

I’ve been seeing Dr. Johnson for years now. I originally stated going to a Tonka Smiles because it was located near where I worked. I’ve since retired and now drive around 25 miles one way and wouldn’t think of switching to somewhere closer as it is always a great experience (who says that about a dental visit ever….me that’s who!) Amy my hygienist is great, she is so thorough and I’ve never had one bit of discomfort in any procedure I’ve had done. Everyone at Tonka Smiles is great and I would recommend them to everyone!

05/04/2018

5 Stars — Deon M

Hands down my favorite and most comfortable dentist experience that I’ve ever had – they took the pain out of what I thought would’ve been a painful issue (crown). I’ve found my new and long-term office. Dare I say I’ll actually go to the dentist regularly now! Thank you!!

04/26/2018

5 Stars ” Fast and Friendly! “ — Anonymous

The Tonka Smiles team is sensational. Very welcoming and positive environment!

10/31/2017

5 Stars ” Just a check-up “ — David B

As always, I felt well taken care of an treated like a friend not just a patient/number on a chart. Top notch service! Thank you as always!

11/08/2017

Rhonda C — I have been a patient for almost 20 years. Excellent service and care from prevention to cavity to crowns to replacement teeth. They are excellent with children. My two children were seen at Tonka Smiles and they liked going to the dentist.


Michael R — I was long overdue for a dentist visit, so I was a bit nervous about what they might tell me. Everyone at Tonka Smiles was nice and knowledgeable. This place really put me at ease and cleaned up this smile pretty well too! I’d highly recommend Tonka Smiles if you need any dental work.


Maren A — I usually see another dentist, but had to get in quickly for a procedure my dentist doesn’t offer. I was so impressed with everyone at Tonka Smiles, from the woman I talked with on the phone, to everyone who works in the office, to the dentist herself. They got me in quickly, and were so very kind & friendly.


Anonymous — Never nervous around these people. They are always more than kind, friendly as can be, and non- judgmental. I have never liked going to the dentist and I’ve been afraid all my life. Whenever I have an appointment at Tonka Smiles I have very little anxiety knowing they will be understanding of the fears I have faced all my life.


Haley W — Tonka Smiles was absolutely amazing! From the receptionist all the way up to the dentist I had excellent care and service. I had been very nervous and they took that into consideration and made me feel very at ease. Each and every person took the time to answer any questions that I had, explain what was happening, and making sure that I was comfortable. I cannot express how happy I am with the entire staff at Tonka Smiles! Thank you!


Anonymous — I’ve bounced around from dentist to dentist. I’ve been here a few times now and I honestly can’t say how great everyone is from the first call to every appointment since. If you want a dentist and staff you will like, go here.